Mississippi Interstate Cooperative Resource Association Updated:10/2018

MICRA is an organization of 28 state natural resource departments organized in 1991 as a partnership to improve management of interjurisdictional fish and other aquatic resources in the Mississippi River Basin.  The Mississippi River Basin is the fourth largest watershed in the world, and the largest watershed in the nation, draining all or part of 31 states and 2 Canadian provinces. The watershed measures approximately 1.2 million square miles, and covers 41% of the continental United States. The Mississippi River and its tributaries comprise one of the largest and most valuable ecosystems in the world.

The MICRA states have identified more than 90 interjurisdictional rivers within the Mississippi River Basin. Interjurisdictional fisheries and other aquatic resources of the Mississippi River Basin are cooperatively managed by regional partnerships developed around multiple sub-basins. These partnerships work together through MICRA to achieve cooperative management of aquatic resources throughout the Mississippi River Basin.
MICRA's Mission  
MICRA's Mission is to improve the conservation, management, development and utilization of interjurisdictional fishery resources (both recreational and commercial) in the Mississippi River Basin through improved coordination and communication among the responsible management entities.

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of ArkansasLandCAN.
Mississippi Interstate Cooperative Resource Association is not employed by or affiliated with the Arkansas Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Mississippi Interstate Cooperative Resource Association

9053 Route 148
Marion, IL  62959
Phone: 618-997-6869
Cell Phone: 618-889-9600
Fax: 618-997-9185

Service Area

Statewide Program in:
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming